No! Has it been that long?

While I doubt you’re any fonder for my absence, I apologise! Life has a way of catching up to you & sucking away time.  My son has started walking, my garden has been growing, and I accidentally scored myself a part time job.  Throw in a road trip to Perth, and a visit from my mother-in-law, and I’ve been time poor.  Even my cooking has taken a hit.  But welcome back, all the same.

What have I been cooking?  Well, as my garden has been in a massive state of growth & harvest-or-perish, I have been getting into any recipe that included a mix of carrots, potatoes, broccoli, fennel, and chard (silverbeet).  That pretty much shut me down to roasts with an amazing array of veggies.  I never knew just how good roast fennel could be until it was diced in with the standard fair.  But most noteworthy for my garden-based cooking is my Beetroot & Dill Risotto, that was inspired by a side dish I had at a Estia Cafe Restaurant in Mount Lawley.  It’s vibrant in colour & flavour, and feeds many! I peel my beetroot before I cook it because I find it bleeds less.  But do whatever you like. I also used fennel (a bit too much? is there such a thing??) in place of an onion, but it was on the edge of bolting & I couldn’t not cook it.  Incidentally, as long as you use the right stock, this is gluten free!

Beetroot & Dill Risotto
500g beetroot, peeled (or washed & unpeeled)
3 tbsp olive oil
1 medium to large fennel bulb, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped (roast garlic would also be superb)
400g risotto rice
1/2 to 1 cup White wine
1.75 litres vegetable stock, heated
small bunch of dill, chopped
2 tbs mascarpone cheese
salt and black pepper

Individually wrap the beetroot in foil and bake in an oven (or if short on time, dice & roast with a foil cover) preheated to 200C for an hour. Leave them to cool. Peel them and then dice into 1-2cm pieces.
Put the oil in a pan and cook the onion/fennel and garlic very gently until softened.  Add
the rice and coat it well in the oil. Then add white wine, stir & allow it to be absorbed before adding the hot stock gradually a ladleful at a time, allowing for absorbtion each time. Cook it until the rice is al dente.  Add the beetroot and cook for a further 5-10 minutes, then add the dill and the cheese.
Allow to stand, covered, for 5 minutes. Then season with salt and pepper to taste and a maybe little (large?) dollop of mascarpone.

I’ve also been having a crack at some deserts.  Rosewater Meringues where a broad success, but I think I need some practise there.  The left over yolks went in a Crème Pâtissière (pastry creme) out of Et Voila!  This is possibly the best custard I have ever made.  Hands down. Including my infamous baked egg custard or 12-egg bread & butter pudding (technically a baked custard). And for giggles, I cracked out some NinjaBread Men, which weren’t to my liking on account of the strong molasses flavour.  That stuff will put hairs on your chest.

And I know my delicious. Challenge hasn’t been completed in a while, but in my defense, the magazine took so long to get here last month, I went out & bought a copy at the newsagent after waiting 2 weeks.  It was still another week before my subscription copy arrived.  How rude!  Maybe this month, I’ll get back on the horse?  For now, enjoy my photos!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

About houseofnom

nommer of great self-merit. (yes, I make myself merit badges for nomming)
This entry was posted in Garden, Gluten Free, Recipe, Vegetarian, Win. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No! Has it been that long?

  1. reddolls says:

    I saw this pic on facebook and thought of you 🙂

  2. reddolls says:

    teehehe…mine always looks like that!

Leave a Reply

